Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development that any experiences we may have in our life.

Everybody up has their own unique personality. Certain research results reveal that characteristics that we are born with are more likely to influence our personality. Personally, both have equal influence on a person's personality. To begin with natural characteristics determine how a person acts. Kindness is one of those, which is a common characteristic that people are born with. By being kind since you are a child, you learn to help others when they are in need. An extroverted personality is developed as a result, making you more optimistic. This factor can lead to a person becoming a good citizen of society. However, personal experiences can drastically change how a person acts. In the worst circumstance it could lead to some taking their own life. Being abused is one of those experiences, which is what many people face in their family. When abused, the person is put through many obstacles from their own relatives. As a result, people that were once happy and cheerful could become afraid and introverted. This can lead to another mental illness related to how a person think and perceive actions. In conclusion, while characteristics can predict how a person will act when they grow up, personal experiences can shift their personality after being exposed to those experiences or trauma. This shows that experiences that people can have a big impact on our personality as well.