The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The matching of people to the rate of the modern world is largely attributed to the increase in packaged foods. While it may have some advantages, including fast preparation, its drawbacks overcome its benefits. Convenience foods can offer several conveniences. Firstly, they might be prepared quickly and easy to consume without peeling, chopping, slicing or any kitchen tools. Secondly, their longer shelf life means we can keep them tucked away in our pantries for months, ready to be used whenever we need them. For instance, tinned fish and canned meals do not require much time to cook and are more suitable for keeping than others. Thus, they come with their own set of benefits for people, especially busy workers and housewives. In contrast, packaged foods’ composition often contains high levels of sugar, sold and preservatives. This can lead to varied health issues like obesity, gastric flu, diabetes, and high blood pressure if consumed in excess. Moreover, the production and disposal of packaging contribute to environmental degradation and water pollution. For example, plastics and non-recyclable materials pile up in landfills or water, and as a result, the risk of pollution might increase. Therefore, there are negative consequences of the consumption of convenience foods. In conclusion, the rise of pre-packaged provisions can be attributed to our fast-paced modern lifestyles. Whereas, convenience meals may serve as a quick solution for busy individuals, it is vital to balance convenience and health by incorporating more fresh and nutritious options into daily diets.