The gouverment should encourage people to live ourskirts of a city. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally acknowledged that heavy traffic and housing challenges are growing around the world, and therefore, it is sometimes argued that government and policy makers ought to encourage/motivate/provide incentives for companies to move/relocate from urban areas to the outskirts of the cities. While this decision has a number of undeniable benefits, I believe, they are both outweighed and outnumbered by the drawbacks. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of this phenomenon followed by my personal point of view. On the one hand, moving the companies to the countryside has a number of potential benefits; chief among them, a healthier and more efficient society owing to the fact that this would lead to a dramatic decrease in the amount of pollution and traffic inside the cities resulting in fewer diseases and healthier people. As a consequence, there would be a significant rise in the health and productivity level in the society as a whole. More importantly, the city of Toronto serves as a good example where the government has tried this approach over the past decades resulting in a 25% decrease in traffic and pollution levels in the city. Based on government reports overall business productivity has increased by 20%. On the other hand, relocating the businesses to the outskirts has numerous undeniable drawbacks; the most important of which is, a tremendous negative impact on the environment due to the fact that this would contribute to exporting the pollution and traffic to the suburbs causing a drastic rise in pollution and congestion levels there. As a result, there will be enormous adverse repercussions on the environment. This has been evidenced by several studies the latest of which is one conducted by the University of Toronto concluding that encouraging the businesses to leave the city over the past half a century has led to a 30% increase in the amount of pollution in the areas surrounding Toronto. The study further found that this trend has increased the number of respiratory diseases such as lung cancer and asthma in the suburbs by 25%. In conclusion, whereas relocating businesses outside the urban areas has several unquestionable merits such as less road congestion and pollution in addition to a healthier society, it is undoubtedly eclipsed by the demerits including the tremendous increase in environmental damage and health issues in the suburbs.