In some countries, more and more people are hiring a personal fitness trainer, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, appointing a private coach rather than participating in organized sports events or attending exercise classes has become an increasing trend in several countries. The following essay is going to discuss the reasons behind this situation and explain why it is a beneficial improvement. There are plenty of motives that lead to this phenomenon. First and foremost, people can arrange a more flexible timetable. Nowadays, a lot of people have to work overtime to ensure that they will not fall behind in their careers, thus sometimes they could be forced to skip sports classes to finish their tasks. So, having a private coach means that they could easily rearrange a workout session to fit with their timetable. For example, instead of skipping a daily badminton match due to an intensive working schedule, individuals who hire a private instructor can arrange another training session to exercise later. Moreover, people would not get embarrassed in a personalized training class. This is because a sedentary lifestyle has made many young people lack the stamina and basic knowledge needed for sports and exercises, thus when participating in a group sports match, they could become a laughing stock if they can not keep up with their peers, so working with a personal trainer could help them avoid experiencing that kind of situation. For instance, a coach would instruct his students thoroughly on how to lift weights and motivate them to train hard to keep fit, without making them feel humiliated. This phenomenon has brought several benefits to people, such as avoiding injuries and creating more jobs. Simply put, when practicing with a professional, individuals are guided to perform exercises properly, thus minimizing the chance of hurting themselves. Taking lifting weights as an example, an improper technique could result in the dislocation of shoulder muscles. Furthermore, this could create more job opportunities as athletes and professional power builders could have a chance to work as part-time private instructors. Last but not least, personal trainers could also act as nutritionists, so not only they could help folks to keep fit via physical training, but they could also help people reach their goals by supervising the amount of calories people obtain in their bodies. In conclusion, the reason behind appointing a private trainer is that it could help individuals build a more flexible timetable to exercise and motivate them to exercise intensively to achieve their target, while yielding the same result as group sports. This situation is also a progressive development, as it creates more jobs and helps prevent injuries during workout sessions.