Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

A new trend has been observed where several young couples are delaying parenthood. The increasing popularity of this trend could be attributed to the fact that couples are prioritizing career progression to achieve financial stability that can provide a secure future for their progeny. This essay will discuss the merits and the drawbacks of this new trend. The primary advantage of having a family later in life is financial well-being. When young couples are with child they are unable to prioritize their career as they need to take care of their kids. For instance, doctors usually plan to have children later in life, so they can successfully finish their education and residency to secure a well-paid job. If they decide to have children during this period they could not dedicate themselves to their work as they would need to take care of their children. Therefore, choosing parenthood later in life enables them to have a substantial amount of time to achieve their goals and have a strong economic background. The major drawback of this trend is a loss of prime reproductive age. Several studies suggest that the age 18 to 35 is a peak fertile age and offers a high chance of a healthy pregnancy. When individuals pass this stage they may face complications in conceiving or could have a child with deformities. Moreover, women who are pregnant in their late 30s could face life-threatening complications. Thus, this trend could steal a chance for a few young couples to have children. In conclusion, choosing to not have children at a young age could result in a successful career and wealth to provide a secure future for children. This decision could also result in a loss of peak fertile period. Thus, in later years couples could face challenges with pregnancy. Hence, the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages.