Every year an increasing number of people suffer from fast food related diseases. The government, therefore, should impose a high tax on fast food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there is a significant increase annually in the number of individuals suffering from diseases associated with the consumption of junk food. However, some suggest that increasing the taxes on these types of diets is beneficial to reduce overconsumption. I completely agree with this viewpoint and will justify my statement. To begin with, the intake of processed food on a daily basis is associated with the development of chronic metabolic diseases. For example, in a recent study conducted by the American Healthcare Journal, which had identified that the intake of excess sugar,salt and fat from these diets significantly raised the risk for cardiovascular failure. In addition, diabetes and lipidemia are also on the rise which aggravates the above risk further. Moreover, consumption of these foods will lead to deterioration of health if standards and regulations are not put into place. On the other hand, the governments are trying to impose excessive tax on these diets which will significantly increase the prices, which will ultimately result in reduced interest to purchase. For example, the province of Newfoundland in Canada has added a sugar tax on carbonated drinks which has led to a decline in sales in recent years. In addition, alternative healthy foods must be promoted to ensure that daily requirements are met. In conclusion, incremental taxing can lead to a reduction in the consumption of excess calories while lacking critical nutrients. Overall, this approach will shift the customer's attention towards healthier alternatives in the long term.