Some people argue that keeping pets is beneficial for longevity while others believe that household animals are not healthy for people to have as companions. Discuss both sides of the argument and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past few years, there have been constant debates regarding the benefits of keeping pets. This has become a highly controversial issue today. Many people opine that keeping animals is beneficial while others hold opposing views. This essay will look into both perspectives before coming to a conclusion. On one side of the argument, the number of individuals having pets instead of children has been rising. These furry creatures are known to be better companions compared to humans because they are not judgemental and are trustworthy. This means that family members would be comfortable and have a safe space to be in, without feeling drained and lonely, improving their mental health. In addition, there have been many cases where some of these creatures have acted as protectors. For instance, a week ago, a man in India was attacked by three men at night. Luckily, he was saved by his courageous Golden Retriever which pounced on his master's attackers and chased them out of the house. Moreover, these friendly beasts can also be used as support for introverts, people with anxiety and depression or the disabled. For example, the blind can use guide dogs to help them get to places safely. A depressed person can have cats or dogs as a comfort character to make them feel less lonely. A teenager would be able to rely on the furry beasts for a shoulder to lean on when they feel downhearted. On the other hand, if pupils spend too much time with their furry companions, they may lack social skills and it is unhealthy to lose touch with society. Also, animals cannot talk and would not be able to provide advice during tough times, whereas actual human beings can listen and communicate. Furthermore, hygiene is very essential as it requires a lot of effort to clean and feed the animals. Since dogs are very active, they run around and go outside for walks more often than cats. They are high maintenance and if they’re not properly taken care of, they may infect others. In conclusion, spending time with pets can bring comfort and warmth but time should also be spent with real living beings.