Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

Censorship has long been a controversial debate in the political chambers. Recently, this controversy has leaked into society with everyone sharing their opinions and beliefs. Some contend that these policies will reduce the amount of harmful content on the internet. Others proclaim that this would infringe on an individual's privacy and freedom of speech. Also, there is a grey area surrounding what should be censored and what is considered freedom of speech which has also muddied the waters. In my eyes, there should be a guideline to inform members of society about what is acceptable to put publicly accessible websites and what is not. Furthermore, there should be harsher punishments for those that endanger individuals or society as a whole. On the one hand, the anonymity of the internet has allowed certain malicious people to spread hate speech and commit crimes that endanger the public. For instance, websites like The Silk Road were a popular destination for people to browse and buy illicit drugs and even order hitmen, all under the guise of freedom of speech. Government censorship regulations will ensure that these examples are stamped out of society and not given a chance to proliferate. Thus, these policies will help in protecting the law-abiding citizens in society from such harm befalling them or their families. Another example is the Chicago terrorist who used publicly available manuals that taught him how to build a bomb. Censoring this type of information will not infringe on people's right to freedom of speech while also preventing mass casualties. On the other hand, the globalisation of different markets and ideas has meant that members of society now encounter a variety of differing niche opinions and ideas. Therefore, the minorities in society will feel isolated as their voices may be restricted due to them not following the norms and practices of that country. This may result in echo chambers forming where the popular opinions remain and the quieter voices are censored, going against many of the democratic ideals most Western countries were founded on. Others have put forth that regulating what people upload online will also require huge amounts of resources, for example, to pay for advanced technologies, where money could be better spent elsewhere like in healthcare or education. Furthermore, the use of these advanced cyber systems could mean invading people's privacy in order to gather more information. In summary, the debate surrounding censorship is a very contentious one. Some have argued that removing harmful content online will not make a country safer because the individuals wishing to do harm will find other ways. Others contend that it will make it harder for this information to be found by younger members of society. I put forth that guidelines must be put in place to manage what content is available online while also maintaining freedom of speech and not infringing on people's privacy. Also, stricter and harsher sentences should be given to those who intend harm with the information they make public.