Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Competition among peers in schools is a common occurrence seen in all ages, although the intensity may vary. Supporters of healthy educational competition, such as myself, may argue that it encourages students to push their limits and excel in learning while opponents may worry about the negative psychological impact it may have on young people. Extreme competition and the pressure of being compared to fellow students may negatively impact the emotional well-being of school children. This is because humans are unique individuals and possess various skills and talents that cannot always be compared. For example, some students might naturally be creative artists, however, their talents may go unnoticed by many staff and teachers other than the art teacher. Their weaknesses in math, for instance, may be highlighted and compared. This can greatly diminish the mental health and self-confidence of the young student. On the other hand, I believe that a healthy level of competition is absolutely necessary for curricular success and achievement. Performing better and achieving higher grades than other classmates can motivate students to work harder and focus on their studies. For example, most schools reward students for the highest effort as well as greatest achievement, therefore facilitating students to perform their best. Additionally, motivating students to perform their best can help to discover hidden talents and potential that might otherwise be wasted. In conclusion, although extreme competition can have a negative impact on the psychological health of some students, I am convinced that a substantial level of competition has led to greater achievements and success.