It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instances for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate of whether natural talent or hard work is the key to success continues. It is a common belief that natural gifts for a few activities, such as sports and music, are only present in certain individuals from birth. However, some people argue that these talents can be cultivated. In my view, I believe that people who spend the time and effort to learn can eventually surpass those that rely on pure talent. On one hand, certain innate aptitudes for certain pursuits gives that individual an advantage in understanding or mastering that skill. For example, some are born with perfect pitch, in which they are able to identify and reproduce musical notes without any help. Thus, this gift enables them to learn much quicker than an average individual, and faster excel in the music industry. This ability is not transferable due to the different structures in the brain, therefore not everyone will be able to learn such a skill. On the other hand, determination and hardwork can sometimes triumph over those that do not hone their inherent abilities. For instance, while those born with instinctive hand-eye coordination tend to perform better for sports, people who spend longer hours to refine and strengthen not only their visual-motor coordination, but also their physical fitness, will be able to achieve better results. Similarly, while having inborn musical talent can initially assist their learning, the development of musical creativity comes from practice. In conclusion, while some individuals do not have inherent characteristics that can help them pick up certain skills, the resolution to make up for what they lack is the most important. Talented people who do not refine their techniques will not be able to display their capabilities, thus rendering their in-born aptitudes useless.