Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether physical aspects or mental ones are more important for people to succeed in sports. Certainly, both of them are essential for athletes to be successful in this sector. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I consider that they should strengthen both aspects. To begin with, we need to reconsider the benefits brought by the reinforcement of their own emotions because without this type of resilience, their performances in practical contexts might be negatively affected. For instance, one of the best baseball players in Japan, Shohei Otani, was always struggling with serious anxiety before the beginning of each game. In fact, his performance in some games became remarkably lower compared to those of daily practice. What is more, it has been proved that there is a strong causal relationship between emotional stability and physical performance, indicating that mental strength is essential for those athletes. On the other hand, as some people argue, physical aspects are also important because even if a specific player is in good condition in terms of mental, if that person is not in preferable condition in terms of physical functions, that player's total performance will not reach the ideal one. For example, focusing on some football players, if their leg bones were significantly damaged, they would not be able to kick balls as they usually do, even if they are highly motivated to win competitions. Therefore, it is obvious that physical toughness is also necessary for them to achieve their own goals. In other words, both mental toughness and physical strength are interconnected and play an important role for professional players to succeed and to be successful in this field. In conclusion, whereas professional athletes can partly enhance their performances by improving each aspect, if they focus on either, they would not be able to play in the best condition. For this reason, I suppose that to ensure their best outcomes, they should strengthen both mental aspects and physical ones.