Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of competition and cooperation has constantly raised people’s attention these days. While biased ideas may occur, this essay will analyse the significance of both these two elements in professional and personal lives, and the importance of balancing them for progress in working and happiness in living. Competition not only provides workers with motivation and eagerness for promotion in the workplace, but also offers students a sense of fulfilment after competing for better prizes at school. It is natural for people to be reluctant to work consistently without stimulation when completing tedious tasks one after another. Setting goals and encouraging them to compete for a better prize can be an efficient way for both employees and students to get rid of a sense of emptiness. For example, it is common for some high schools to apply the red name system, thus prompting those who are ambitious to get better scores and contributing to their parents’ satisfaction. While the benefits of competition should not be neglected, cooperation is also a necessary part of forming a healthy environment for working and living. It means not only working together with others to resolve problems, but also the encouragement of communication and peaceful atmosphere. As a Chinese saying goes, “three brains work better than one.” Coordination leads to diverse solutions, which contribute to the improvement of working efficiency. In addition, researchers point out that cooperation can help strengthen children’s cognitive ability and promote their organisational skills, thus resulting in their better growth. In conclusion, the combination of competition and cooperation should be applied effectively in working, studying and daily life, so that a better society can be fostered.