High jobs demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect other or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick? Support your point of view with relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is very common for people to go to work despite their illness, due to several reasons, including work pressure, commitment, and job demands, which can not only hurt their health but also cause infections in others. I believe that the masses should take rest if their health is not well. To begin, the first and foremost reason behind the belief that individuals should skip work if their health is unwell is the spread of infections. To explain, some diseases are contagious and can be spread from one person to another, such as the common cold, flu, and other respiratory infections. Hence, attending work while suffering from sickness can not only distract the person from work and increase the chances of errors on the job, but also enhance the chances of a larger outbreak at the workplace; therefore, staying home until fully recovered is beneficial for the employer and the employee. For example, during COVID-19, thousands of individuals died and were sick worldwide. This infection spread from one country to another through travel in a serious condition, which is the reason for this disaster. Moving further, another major reason is the risk of developing some serious health complications. To clarify, if a person is ill and continues to work, their condition may worsen and potentially lead to more severe health problems. For instance, last year I developed an eye infection, and because of my placement, I had to continue with my job; consequently, my eye condition got worse day by day, and now I am on medication for uveitis, which is a result of my carelessness. To conclude, although individuals have a responsibility to fulfil their work commitments and meet deadlines, I believe they should take a break when experiencing health issues