Spoken communication is always more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is alleged that the power of written communication is always less than that of its spoken counterpart. I strongly disagree with this statement as I think the merits of these two forms of communication are in equal measure. On the one hand, oral communication offers several benefits related to nonverbal signals and immediacy. Perhaps the most obvious advantage of this type of communication is that it involves the use of nonverbal cues such as body language, facial expression, or tone of voice which may provide communicators with additional information. Smiles and nods, for example, tell someone that their messages are being listened to and understood. Another point worth mentioning is that listeners may give instant feedback and pose questions promptly to improve understanding, and speakers are also in a position to know the response of their audiences immediately. This is the reason why businesses are carrying out meetings and discussions where managers can communicate their ideas to their subordinates, and employees, in turn, voice their opinions. Written forms of communication, nevertheless, are also of great importance in terms of well-selected expressions and transmission of lengthy information. With regard to the former, writers may have more time to reflect on their content and carefully revise their messages before delivering them. This is particularly important since how successful a piece of writing can be depends on how correct the word choices are, how standard the sentence patterns are and how effective it is when conveying the tone of the sentences. Looking at the second idea, this mode of communication is the most effective when explaining some complex concepts, and providing a large amount of data to support one’s arguments. To summarize, while speakers can use nonverbal cues and receive immediate responses, writers can think carefully about their expressions and be able to convey lengthy messages. As such, I think that the roles of both oral and written discourse are equally important.