Some feel that individuals should have the right to strike in all jobs while others feel there are exceptions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether the right to strike should be accepted in all jobs or not. Certainly, the existence of jobs is one of the most fundamental and essential elements to keep our society stable. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I believe that this right should be supported in all employment. To begin with, we need to reconsider the importance and meaning of this right, in terms of workers. In fact, thanks to this principle, the market system can work correctly. For instance, in the case where the right to strike is not supported by laws, employees will be treated as slaves by their companies because those employers do not need to be afraid of protests by workers. Moreover, if this unfair condition occurred and continued, the motivation of employees would significantly decline, leading to inefficient operation. In other words, if the right that workers can express their own intentions freely and have enough opportunities to convey complaints to their owners was protected, they would be more motivated in their daily jobs. Thus, individuals should have the chance to strike since businesses will be more productive if this right is ensured by public rules. On the other hand, as some people argue, if we did not limit this right in some sectors, our society may collapse, as a result. This is partly true because if the employees of public transport strike, numerous citizens will struggle with access to their workplaces. For example, in Italy, this type of situation can be seen as usual because the culture, which treats labour rights as one of the most important aspects of society, still remains. In fact, when I was in Milan, I was surprised and suffered from the tumult caused by the national strike. However, on the internet, abundant information was released beforehand, and citizens were not too confused. Moreover, if this right is not applied only to those public workers, this situation will be problematic. This is because the salaries of public employees and private ones generally do not greatly differ, although there might be a slight difference among individuals. Thus, this right must be applied to any job because the economy cannot work correctly without motivated workers. Furthermore, to motivate them, this most basic right should be backed by law because the positions between employees and employers are always equal. Then, striking should be permitted publicly as long as they reveal detailed information beforehand to mitigate the chaos. In conclusion, whereas ordinary citizens might struggle with complex situations due to strikes, their society cannot be stable without the existence of those workers, and they might quit their jobs as soon as they can, if there is no legal support for them. For this reason, I suppose that the right to strike should be admitted in every job.