In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s contemporary world, there is an ongoing debate regarding whether or not people will purchase printed reading materials such as newspapers or books in the future. While some people think that they will have access to these items online for free and nobody will be buying them anymore, I partially agree with this point of view. This essay will discuss why I do not agree completely with the statement. One compelling reason to support the proponents who claim that nobody will buy printed newspapers or books in the future due to the availability of these materials online is free is that there are indeed many free platforms online where people can find anything they want to read abundantly. Some of the resources they can have easy access to online these days are world news, market insights, sports results and also books which include both fictional and non-fictional. In contrast to this, in those days technology was not available and people had to travel a few kilometres to buy newspapers. Nevertheless, today, for example, if someone wants to know the scores achieved by their favourite sports team, they can instantaneously open social media like Instagram for updates and do not have to run to the stores to get a newspaper. Thus, it is definitely true that people do not have to pay for reading anything and printed materials will decline in sales. However, it is also an undeniable truth that not all platforms can be freely accessed and some high-quality materials are only available through paid packages. Although it is common that online websites provide one week of free trial, to enjoy further perks of readings, one must purchase premium packages. For instance, reading platforms like Kindle which sells thousands of books like novels and biographies only publish the synopsis of those books as free material, however, the full versions are only available upon paid subscription. Moreover, the prices are too expensive and people end up buying materials from bookstores. Therefore, there will be people who prefer to buy printed books in the future to get specific materials. In conclusion, while I agree that there are some free reading materials and people can read almost everything online, I certainly believe that this is arguable because there are still people who will choose to purchase printed newspapers and books due to the fact that specific high-quality materials needed to be purchased with premium sets online and not all items can be freely accessed online.