Some people think that more genetically modified food should be produced to cope with the growing population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growing world nowadays, the population has hyperbolized which leads to the demand for food. Some individuals state that bioengineered foods should be put into production to sustain the huge consumption of the whole world. From my perspective, I partly agree with the view above. This essay will give reasons as follows. Firstly, it is extremely challenging to find enough space to grow foodstuffs as most land is costly these days. To supply sustenance for citizens, man-made ones must be put into research at laboratories to find suitable livestock breeds and cultivars to give sufficient yields for humanity. Moreover, those types can also be mass-produced without having to use pesticides and a lot of resources alas water, and fertile soil which can cut down significant costs of farming and animal husbandry. Secondly, lab-grown food helps to keep food safe and secure, since most of these are being monitored by experts and scientists who can find antibiotics to lessen bacteria's negative effects. Furthermore, those produce have been added extra genes to be resistant against most germs. This means that eating these are less likely to suffer from food poisoning. For instance, GM papaya resists the ringspot virus, saving Hawaii’s papaya industry. On the other hand, such food may be risky to devour and can also result in ethical concerns. More specifically, many of the experiments may violate rules and regulations such as environmental impact or loss of biodiversity caused by the invasive species whose DNA has been altered. In addition to that, the produce may bring about many repercussions to our well-being like birth defects, and deterioration of the immune system. Many also suggest that it will also result in the monopolization of products by large corporations, during this state, many kinds of grocery stores cannot compete with these companies which makes GMO foods reign supreme and the varieties of items will greatly reduce. In conclusion, although it is the only solution that can fix overpopulation, it also causes many effects on our health and can also contribute to certain diseases. It is of utmost importance that we should balance out our diets to avoid the negative effects of GMO foodstuffs.