Some people believe that it is the resposibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Health is one of the most fundamental rights of human beings. Some people argue that consuming a healthy menu is a personal authority, while others believe that the authority should lend a hand to monitor it. This essay will discuss both statements and why I side with the latter. On one hand, each individual's body is different from others, hence why everyone should have the awareness to sustain healthy diets so that they will be more protected from illnesses. For example, a menu for a middle-aged man who mostly does physical labour is relatively different from a high school girl's as their nutritional needs are different from each other. Thus, what is healthy for one does not mean it is healthy for the other and it is an individual responsibility to take care of it. Nonetheless, the government also bears a duty to make certain that its citizens get an equal diet fulfilment as not everybody has access to expensive nutritious groceries. For instance, the government of Indonesia made a program where lower-middle-income citizens are able to get free essential groceries, namely palm oil, flour, rice, noodles, eggs, and milk, which helps them access a healthy menu. Consequently, the authorities' interference is much needed to ensure the citizens' well-being by helping those in need to access nutrition intake. To summarise, the nutritional needs of society are vastly diverse, hence why they have to take care of themselves, yet help from the government is also very needed to ensure that goal is achieved. Furthermore, if the authority does not interfere and provide affordable nutritious ingredients for the society, they will hardly obtain a collective prime health condition.