The role of prisons should be to punish criminals who have committed serious crimes. Training courses and education offered to prisoners are a waste of taxpayers' money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Prisoners sent to serve their sentences in correctional facilities should be given additional benefits like skill training according to their punishment and the severity of their crimes. I agree to some extent and I will ascertain my views in the below essay. As I explained above, the facilities inside a correctional center should be determined as per the severity of the crime committed by the offenders. If a person is in jail due to a murder or a very serious crime and is sentenced to lifetime imprisonment or more, they should not be benefited from such skill training courses. As those skills will never benefit them in the future. It will be a sure waste of resources and taxpayer's money. So, they should be handled strictly and just stay in there to serving their time. On the other hand, while some criminals commit minor crimes due to bad situations or lack of knowledge, while they cannot go unpunished but at the same time, they should be getting support so they do not become repeat offenders and they get better opportunities to make their lives better after their release. For example, if someone is put behind bars for shoplifting, they should be given the opportunity to enhance their knowledge to become a better person. These kind of opportunities will make offenders after their release become a better part of society and will reduce the chance of commiting any criminal activity by them again. To conclude, I agree that role of prisons for some criminals should be to punish them, while some criminals who will be released after serving their sentence must get some education or skill training so that they can be the part of productive society again.