Nowadays, many people prefer to seek medical advice on the Internet instead of seeing a qualified doctor. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

These days, more and more individuals tend to gather information about health when they get sick rather than going to see a doctor. I personally think that this trend is more negative and the reason for this phenomenon is the technological progress, especially the Internet accessibility. To begin with, in this modern world, a lot of people can access websites readily without a large amount of time to get ready to leave home and drive to a clinic. This can negatively contribute to us becoming more reluctant than ever before. In addition, the use of the internet is completely free, which can also have a significant impact on saving their time and money. For example, some statistics show that residents living in rural areas are more likely to rely on seeking medical information online than those who live in urban areas, because it is extremely far for them to drive to a clinic, spending more than an hour. Meanwhile, on the one hand, it is true that access to the Internet is now the pivot of our daily lives. However, there is a deluge of misinformation or false facts at the same time. This is attributed to the availability to allow anyone to write whatever they want. As a result, this information can have a harmful effect on their health issues, aggravating their conditions. To sum up, there is a tendency where we can see an increasing number of online users for medical advice in this modern society, which is partly because of the accessibility to the Internet. I believe that this is rather a detrimental consequence as it might cause to exacerbate public health conditions.