In many countries, financial crime involving identity theft is increasing. What are the causes of this trend, and what effect does identity thief have on the victims involved?

It is reported that in many countries, there is an increase in cases where thieves steal innocent people's identities to commit financial crimes. There are several factors leading to this phenomenon and there are certain measures we can take to reduce such things. To begin with, it's essential to list the main reasons. Firstly, as virtual assets and online services become common, the mechanism of online trades might be complicated and only a handful of few know which websites are safe and which are not. Secondly, virtual thieves tend to disguise themselves as service providers or commercial dealers to cheat consumers who are less careful with each choice they make. Finally and most importantly, it is a popular solution for websites to use cookies to reduce the time of verifications which makes it more convenient for the bad person to get access. The solution to identity theft can be divided into two parts, the government side and the individual side. On the one hand, the government ought to play the role of an administrator. Since content censorship is inevitable, the government can and is able to verify the qualifications of each website. There would be less fraud if regular censorship were performed. On the other hand, people should develop a good system of remembering their passwords and rely less on cookies. Moreover, people need to know the consequences of their actions instead of just letting things happen. In conclusion, financial crime is and will continue to be the major form of theft as we live in the era of information. The government should take the responsibility to guard the citizens while we as individuals should beware of the potential scams.