Television serves many useful functions. It helps people to relax. Besides, it can also be seen as a companion for lonely people. To what extent do you agree with this? Explain why with your own experience.

There is no denying the fact that television has many benefits for people, especially psychological ones. While it is a commonly held belief that using television is just a waste of time, there is also an argument that opposes this idea. In my opinion, I consider that smart devices like television can have many positive effects on daily life. To begin with, in the past, when televisions spread around the world, they allowed nations to stay updated with the news, which made citizens feel more comfortable and gave them the right to be informed. In other words, it helps people feel relaxed, whether by showing news or other programs. That is why people like to use it during their free time. In addition, some people have a lot of free time, such as elderly people. They often feel bored and lonely, especially since their families are busy and rarely spend time with them, which makes them prefer to spend their time watching TV as a way to get rid of negative feelings. Another point to consider is that people can use TV to enjoy their time by watching soccer, cartoons, movies, documentaries, or even listening to music. It is also possible to say that watching TV can increase people ’s cultural awareness. There are many shows on TV that allow you to have both a fun and beneficial time. For instance, seventeen percent of American citizens refer to the HHTE program, an information-based competition show, as something that improved their knowledge. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that the presence of TV in our daily routines makes us feel better, and it is a good addition to our lives