TOPIC: Young people in the modem world seem to have more power and influence them any previous young generation. Why is this the case? What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, the younger generation seems to have more control and influence than the previous generations. Several factors contribute to this phenomenon, and the gap between younger and older generations is becoming increasingly pronounced. To begin with, the rapid development of technology and social media is the main reason for this concern. Young people nowadays have good skills in technology, having been exposed to it from an early age. They are enabled to easily access and spread the information widely. This leads to more timely updates and broader dissemination of information compared to previous generations. In addition, the younger generation is becoming the trend-setter in areas such as fashion, music, art, and spending behavior. Besides that, the changes in social trends demand qualities such as innovative, creative, and the ability to adapt to new environments, which these young individuals possess. An illustration of this is that many social organisations, including governments, increasingly pay attention to the young people ’s opinions and give their contribution to the decisions in community campaigns. Secondly, the changes in society cause both positive and negative influences on the relationship between young and old people. On the positive side, the younger generation can support older individuals in using modern devices and create the opportunity for each other to connect, as the older people share their life experience and the young people bring their technological skills. However, the imbalance of life perspectives and values causes arguments. For instance, some of the youths may lack respect for older people because they think old people are outdated. To sum up, the rise of technological advancement gives the younger generation more influence, thereby widening the generation gap.