Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, a new trend has led more people with health problems to follow alternative methods for treatment without consulting a general physician. I believe that this approach is effective for some illnesses, including stress and depression. However, these methods can have negative side effects, which may be hazardous, since most methods are not supported by scientific research. The main advantage of this approach is that it offers a valuable opportunity to people who suffer from mental issues. To be more precise, sport is one of the best alternatives for psychological patients as it not only contributes to faster recovery but also promotes individuals' personal and professional lives. As an example, yoga is an intellectual and physical sport which enhances people's resilience in facing problems, and also recommended by psychologists as a supplement to the main treatment for patients who struggle with stress and depression. In addition, they claim that exercise is a remarkable activity that helps people become relaxed and recharged. Thus, in some cases is a great remedy that is beneficial for some diseases. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this attitude can be responsible for serious challenges, which are related to health, since scientific research has not been implemented on them. In addition, some of the methods stem from misconceptions, which spread through social media such as Telegram. For instance, nowadays, some Iranians believe that they can use herbs as a medicine for hyperthyroidism, which is incorrect advice, as many herbs contain hypothyroidism agents, which not only do not help them but also exacerbate their condition. Hence, wrong beliefs which do not have any scientific support result in severe problems that threaten individuals' health. To sum up, from my vantage point, although these benefits can help patients become healthy, the drawbacks act as a barrier to following the proposal since most of them are not based on scientific evidences, and may lead to harmful consequences.