With the increased golbal demand for oil and gas , undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resouces . To what extent do you agree?

For a long time, oil and gas have significantly contributed to the world’s progress. Some people believe that due to the increasing demand for crude oil and gas, hidden areas of the world should be accessed to maximize energy resources. I partially agree with this statement, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are several reasons in support of the given statement. The foremost is economic growth. Many nations are resource-dependent as they require non-renewable energy sources to compete in the global market. Additionally, the oil and gas industry boosts industrial output and helps expand transportation, which directly contributes to a country's economy. On the other hand, exploring untouched areas of the world can also create better job opportunities. The extraction of mineral oil and gas requires labor, and the increased demand will significantly increase employment, especially in underdeveloped regions. For instance, an article published in The Tribune in 2017 disclosed that with the expansion of jobs in the mining sector, 23.7% of employees rose above the poverty line in the Philippines. In contrast, there are plenty of reasons to oppose the above statement. The most critical concern is environmental destruction. Prolonged mining and digging of the earth’s surface to extract resources can increase deforestation, habitat loss, and the extinction of flora and fauna. This could further raise the risk of global warming due to the emission of greenhouse gases. Besides this, human life can also be at risk. The process of mining is hazardous for those involved because some minerals emit harmful, poisonous gases that are dangerous to health. Furthermore, extraction activities can cause man-made disasters, as many of these untouched areas are ecologically sensitive. For example, The Times of India published an article in 2024 which disclosed that due to illegal mining in the Indian Ocean premises, many people got trapped under caves they were digging. Almost 250 people lost their lives in the incident. In conclusion, although opening up undiscovered areas can fulfill short-term energy goals, it can also drastically damage our earth and deplete natural resources over time. Instead, nations should focus on green fuels that are renewable, such as solar energy, wind energy, and so on.