Some people feel that manufactureres and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Packages are of tremendous help when it comes to the transportation of goods, and they are even crucial in some products for correct handling. Whilst some people believe that manufacturers and sellers should take care of this vital process, I believe that diminishing the amount of packaging is a task that implies both the consumer and producer. On the one hand, reducing containers is, in the first place, the responsibility of the fabric creating them and the supermarkets circulating those. Taking part in social consciousness and accepting the environmental impact these have is a stepping stone towards independence from implementing them. For instance, a country like New Zealand has gotten rid of plastic bags for groceries, replacing them with paper bags and promoting the usage of cardboard boxes and reusable bags instead. I think it is a beneficial strategy that contributes directly to stopping the human impact on Earth and shows commitment from the production sector. On the other hand, customers play an important role as they have the power to decide whether they acquire a good or not. Although sometimes consumers do not realize how powerful they are, unifying and carefully choosing the most environmentally friendly products, the ones that avoid tons of plastic, is quite helpful as it promotes a better culture. For example, there was a campaign in Mexico against the excessive use of plastic bags at local groceries, and even though those are still around, consumers understood the message and diminished the usage dramatically, opting for using their own bags. I consider this to be a clear example of how the consumers shared the same vision and, indeed, made a change. In conclusion, packaging reduction is not a problem for a particular party, moreover, it is an issue that has to involve everyone correlated to it. Hence, my opinion is that everybody can contribute positively to the change, from small actions from customers caring about what he or she is buying, to big companies and chain markets selecting less prejudicial packages in their products.