Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Because of progress in science and technology, there are a large number of advantages in agriculture. I totally agree with this statement because such evolutions have made the farming style more efficient and have saved the environment. First and foremost, compared to the middle of the 19th century, there has been an increasing number of more productive farming machines in some developed countries as science has developed. This innovation allowed farmers to expand their fields for cultivation. For instance, according to some statistics conducted by the Japanese Administration in 2018, the figure of domestic consumption of rice has increased gradually since more and more new advanced agricultural machines were invented and introduced in the nation. Without technological advancements, today’s agricultural industry in Japan would not have been able to produce much more rice. In addition, science also contributes to a decrease in the amount of water consumption. This is because crops grown with genetic modification need less water to grow, leading to the saving of natural resources. One of the good examples is that Japanese agriculture has become one of the most eco-friendly industries in the world since they started to use machinery which provides less water to cultivate their rice fields, resulting in positively contributing to environmental protection. In conclusion, it is argued that scientific progress, especially in an agricultural society, offers farmers significant benefits. In my opinion, I think that scientific developments such as agricultural machines and genetic modification have improved agricultural industries, resulting in becoming efficiency-oriented and protecting natural resources.