Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should be motivated to be competitive, while others feel that teaching them to be cooperative will be more valuable as they enter adulthood. I believe that while competition can help children be successful, cooperation is more important because it teaches them to work within a team, a crucial adult skill. On the one hand, encouraging a sense of competition can cultivate resilience and perseverance in children, equipping them with the skills needed to succeed in a competitive job market. For example, a study published by NewYork University illustrates that the job market today has a massive candidates with academic backgrounds in a variety of fields, but the available positions are limited to be able fit all of them, as a result, having a sense of competition from a younger age will help them once they enter the workforce in the future. Despite that, I would argue that children require lessons on teamwork more than the will to win. On the other hand, promoting cooperation teaches children valuable interpersonal skills, such as empathy, teamwork, and effective communication, which are essential in both personal and professional relationships. Through working with others, children learn not only how to respect different opinions but also how to pool their strengths. For instance, preschools include cooperation as one of the first skills in their curriculum as they recognise that it is a vital social skill in all spheres of life. I therefore believe that teaching children to work with others is more important than giving them a sense of competition. In conclusion, while instilling a sense of competition in children can help them succeed, i think Teaching children to be cooperative gives them the ability to work as part of a team, which is far more valuable later in life.