Some people believe that money is the best gift to give teenagers, while others disagree. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving money as a gift? What is your opinion?

A number of people consider monetary gifts as the most desired by youngsters, while others support the opposite opinion. While giving money as an award may offer some benefits to teenagers, such as financial independence, there are still some downsides, in terms of wrong purchase decisions. Personally, I am inclined to believe that, youth should be given the opportunity to decide solely on what they wish to spend their financial resources. On the one hand, the core drawback refers to the useless items being bought due to efficient cash management. This phenomenon is caused by the lack of experience in budgeting, since children are not involved in the financing of family needs. Thus, they can make inefficient decisions on allocating their funds. For example, according to research conducted by McKinsey in 2013, nearly 70% of the young individuals in the United Kingdom are likely to spend their capital on video games, and only up to 30% made an efficient allocation of their funds. So, the advocates state that, things other than money are likely to be meaningful as a present. On the other hand, some significant benefits are offered by the act of gifting cash. Firstly, while having their own finance, youngsters are gaining skills about financial management from their early childhood. Therefore, they tend to have sufficient experience by the time they become mature. Although they may fail to purchase useful items at first, they will undoubtedly improve these skills gradually. Moreover, granting the freedom of choice to youth will lead to increased confidence, which is pivotal for shaping their personality. In conclusion, while the idea that the young population should be given cash, instead of any other gift, has several positive sides, it is worth noting that it has some negative points as well. In my opinion, minors need to have a certain level of independence in terms of their finances, so a monetary grant is the best option.