Nowadays, students sleep less than they used to in the past . what do you think is the reason behinf this? what are effects on individuals

In today's world, sleep deprivation is becoming a common occurrence among students, unlike in previous generations. Some argue about the reason behind this trend and its effect on a person’s body. In my view, the current competitive nature of academic settings mainly contributes to this phenomenon, which can potentially result in various negative physiological and psychological issues. Admittedly, the modern structure of the academic curriculum requires students to take up multiple courses and provide numerous outputs to achieve higher grades of performance. Consequently, their busy schedules and increased homework lead to a lower chance of sleep. The more teachers encourage competition between peers, the more students would likely prioritise activities over rest. Therefore, it is clear that the school set-up contributes to their lack of sleep habits. Furthermore, sleeping less than the recommended duration for optimal development can affect the physical and mental aspects of the human body. Firstly, it hinders the process of growth and recovery in our body. For example, teenagers who stay up late are found to have a higher risk of obesity and cognitive impairment. Finally, it promotes irritability and anxiety in one's mind. This is greatly attributed to mental fatigue, which can make young individuals have reactive emotions. Thus, having a good amount of sleep can prevent potential side effects of fatigue. To summarise, getting enough sleep is vital for all individuals, especially students. However, these populations often give utmost priority to academic activities, which results in physical limitations and mental distress.