Many people believe that economic development is necessary for a country’s success. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such approach?

Economic development is essential for every country's growth. Some people think that economic development is necessary for a country's success. There are some benefits and drawbacks to this approach. I will describe some of them in this essay. There are several key advantages. One of the main advantages is that the unemployment rate has decreased. For instance, some developed countries such as, UK, the USA, and Canada have better economic conditions, where the unemployment rate is almost zero. Moreover, a developed economy can increase the overall GDP of a country, while it helps to increase the quality of life of the country's people. In addition, when a country is economically developed, its productivity tends to be high. On the other hand, focusing only on economic growth can lead to serious problems. One major issue is environmental damage. Air pollution, water pollution, and environmental damage are some of the harmful effects caused by factories and industries. For example, a study conducted by Dhaka University in 2023 shows that almost 65% of pollution is caused by factories and industries in a country. Specifically, the tannery and dyeing industry are responsible for 50% of the total pollution. In conclusion, decreasing unemployment rate, increasing total income, and better quality of life are some noticeable advantages of the economic development of a country. Apart from that, air pollution, water pollution, and environmental damage are some major disadvantages of this approach. The government should take necessary steps to reduce this pollution, otherwise, it will be too late.