There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

The decision to have no children is increasing among married couples all over the world. The advantages to this are more personal time and less financial stress. The disadvantages are inability to conceive later and poor economic impact in the long run. One of the advantages of not having babies is having more personal time with the partner. No children means the opportunity to spend quality time with the other person in a relationship increases, thereby creating a deeper bond between the two people. Another advantage is that there is no sudden financial burden on couples. The moment a couple conceives, the responsibility to raise a child comes with a monetary burden like additional day to day expenses and education costs. For example, with inflation being so high in recent times, the school fees all over the world in private schools, especially, have gone up significantly, resulting in many families putting their children under home tuition. One of the disadvantages, however, is that with time, the ability to conceive also decreases due to physiological changes in the bodies of both men and women. Further, the lifestyle of current generation and pollution also adds to this misery. Another disadvantage is that such family decisions on the global level prevent economic growth in the long run. If families do not have children anymore, then the next generation, basically, has less skilled workers, therefore the future demand of workforce will not be met, leading to a decline in economic growth. For instance, the Chinese government’s policy to prevent more than one kid per family has impacted its economy to such an extent, that their local population is insufficient to meet its job vacancies. In conclusion, although the decision to have no babies creates a deeper bond between couples and has less financial stress on them, the negative impacts like the inability to conceive and economic stagnation are serious issues to be considered.