In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In a large number of countries, people are living longer than in the past. Some people think that older people bring serious problems for governments, while others believe that the more elderly people there are in society, the more benefits we can gain. Although elderly people need a lot of care and attention, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because they are wise, and they can teach us a lot about life. An increase in the number of older people means more care is needed for them. Since people are now very busy with their work, it is hard to take care of others while they barely take care of themselves. A recent study in the UK shows that many employees resort to sending elderly people to nursing homes because they do not have much time to take care of them. Elderly people are so beneficial because of their wisdom. They are very kind and try to help others by doing useful things for them. Furthermore, they teach people many different lessons about life. Whether you are an adult or a child, you will definitely gain some benefits. As an illustration, in some countries, governments invite older people in order to let them give some lessons about life to teenagers. In conclusion, although elderly people need much care and nursing homes should be provided by governments, I strongly believe that older people have positive impacts on society because of their wisdom and the lessons that they give to both adults and children.