Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that physical prowess can lead to victory against other athletes; conversely, other viewpoints argue that mental toughness is more crucial. Although mental firmness provides people with motivation and focus during competitions, I believe that most sports require them to possess great athletic ability. On the one hand, the strong determination of competitive athletes creates significant incentives and enhances their concentration. That they will not be easy to give up helps them overcome their physical limitations, obstacles, and strategically manage to focus entirely on the championship. When they realise they do not possess superior physical qualities compared to their rivals, they may devise tactics to shorten the path to victory. For example, many Japanese volleyball matches have demonstrated this viewpoint. Although the competitor had certain disadvantages regarding their physical conditions, the combination of mental toughness and a touch of luck brought them victory in those matches. However, I contend that mental fortitude is not a critical factor contributing to success, but physical strength is. Most sports nowadays require contestants not only to have outstanding physical power but also muscle endurance to meet the rigorous conditions of the sporty event. Many matches, such as football, can last for more than two hours, which challenges the player relentlessly to expend their energy. In such cases, the resilience in physical strength will be a determining key over mental courage. The football match between Vietnam and Uzbekistan in 2019 serves as a typical example. Despite Vietnam’s unprecedented national pride in reaching the final of a prestigious Asian competition, physical condition remained the greatest challenge for Vietnamese players when compared to their opponents. In conclusion, despite that mental health may create some miracle moments in sport, physical prowess equips athletes with the necessary preparation from the outset of the match. That’s why it should play a more vital role in sports competition.