In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In our contemporary world, it is witnessed that people have a great tendency to follow television crime dramas and read crime novels. The reasons for the popularity of this genre, and my own opinion in this regard, are going to be discussed comprehensively in the following paragraphs. To begin with, crime dramas and novels are obviously attractive, thrilling, and mysterious. These characteristics can attract the majority of individuals, and people get amused by either watching or reading this kind of series or books. For example, an American crime TV series called Prison Break came out in 2005. That drama was highly thrilling and mysterious, and was very well received by fans in 2005, and for this reason, it could win a number of film industry prizes. Therefore, the more a book or series is amusing and exciting, the more individuals, especially youngsters, tend to watch or study it. I personally like the genre mentioned above, although I reckon watching them could come with some drawbacks. For instance, there are a number of violent scenes in the majority of these TV shows, and strong language is used for speaking in them. Consequently, they are not suitable for a specific age range, especially children, since children’s violence level can increase through observing such intense scenes. Subsequently, research conducted in California in 2012 showed that kids who are used to watching police fiction TV shows behave more rudely at school. To sum up, regarding the crime shows and books increasing in popularity among people, the reason for this phenomenon and my own viewpoint on this matter have been mentioned in the above paragraphs.