Despite the benefits for health, fewer people today than ever before exercise by walking. Why is this? What can be done to encourage more walking?

In recent years, pedestrianism has declined in popularity among the population. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend and propose potential solutions. To begin with, despite the physical and mental health benefits of walking, people no longer engage in this form of exercise as they used to. A primary cause is that technological advances have led individuals to a sedentary lifestyle. To illustrate this, the emergence of inventions, such as large televisions, high-quality smartphones, and household appliances, has made residents stay inactive at home. For instance, a 2023 study in the USA showed that with technological developments, just over 70% of citizens preferred to watch various types of content on their digital devices rather than walk outdoors. Moreover, the lack of infrastructure in most metropolises discourages individuals from taking a stroll outside their homes. To combat this problem, governments, communities, and individuals should act collectively. This means that if the society participates in awareness campaigns to educate residents about the health-related problems associated with sedentary habits, such campaigns will increase the number of walkers who care about their well-being. Furthermore, higher authorities can invest in well-designed public parks that encourage walking by providing designated paths and, in turn, these investments could reduce the number of admissions for lifestyle-related diseases, including hypertension, diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases. For example, Saudi Arabia's government plans to build two public parks for each neighbourhood by 2030, in order to encourage individuals to adopt a healthy lifestyle by strolling. To conclude, although the lack of suitable walking spaces and the distraction of technology have led to a lethargic population worldwide, I am convinced that this challenge can be resolved. Well-planned strategies to encourage people can not only create educated individuals but also improve their overall health.