The funds for postgraduate research are limited; therefore some people think that the government should provide financial support. In their opinion, only scientific research should be funded, rather than other less useful subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the latest decade, the funds for postgraduate research are limited, therefore, some people think that the government should provide financial support. Some people think that only scientific research should be funded, rather than other less useful subjects. I totally agree with their opinion on this topic. Firstly, since the COVID pandemic, the global economy has been declining and the government has located most of its resources in the medical areas and subsidies for its citizens till now. As a result, the annual financial report has been showing deficits for years and the people are demanding much more financial support than ever before. Under this poor economic situation in society, we should think twice before we invest in any academic research in order to avoid being complained about by our own citizens. Therefore, instead of wasting money on less useful subjects, we may fund scientific research which would benefit the next generation. Secondly, there is no question that we have come to an era of science and technology. These fields are vital for further human development such as genetic research which would eliminate incurable diseases in the last century and artificial intelligence for medical purposes. The development in these scientific areas would surely benefit the historical development of the whole human race. In conclusion, our government is in deficit in terms of financial budget and there is a factor for us to locate money wisely when it comes to research funding. Instead of spending our money on some unuseful fields, I insist our tax must be spent on research which would benefit our own race in the next few decades.