Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

In our contemporary world, it is witnessed that the use of illegal substances is increasing on a daily basis. In the following paragraphs, the major reasons and solutions for this phenomenon are going to be discussed comprehensively. To begin with, we live in a fiercely competitive world where people are busy doing work and wrestling with life difficulties. Therefore, this situation imposes a high level of stress. Accordingly, some individuals have found drug abuse as a way to alleviate their stress and life pressures. For example, some Iranian businessmen are used to consuming illegal substances, like cocaine, since they face an unbearable amount of stress every day, which originates from the unstable economic situation in that country. So, drug abuse has helped some people relieve their life pressures. Concerning ways to hinder this phenomenon, governments play a key role in counterfeiting with this deed. They are supposed to enact strict rules and implement executive chastisements for drug sellers. For instance, for many years, Afghan inhabitants have suffered from morphine smugglers. Subsequently, passing new strict laws resulted in the capture of these smugglers. Consequently, the number of consumers declined significantly as well, since morphine consumers did not have any provider. Thereafter, not only can some strict rules and heavy punishments curb the activity of sellers, but also these laws can diminish the number of consumers. To sum up, regarding the increasing number of people who are addicted to using illegal substances, the major reason for this phenomenon, which was a way to reduce hardship and pressure, is mentioned comprehensively. Besides, governments play an influential role in hindering this deed.