Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

The lack of literacy appears to be a concern in many states nowadays. The underlying causes seem to be digitalisation, which creates a close-minded person and tends to impact the future of a nation. Globalisation is a fact that people cannot deny. Lately, the use of gadgets, ranging from personal computers to mobile phones, has been increasing. With gadgets, there are many available options for individuals to entertain themselves. For instance, social media platforms and mobile games appear to be popular among society nowadays. They seem to enjoy those activities without digesting meaningful information, which leads to a lack of literacy. On the other hand, people seem to be addicted to internet content. Research claims that short videos shared on some platforms, such as Instagram’s Reels or TikTok videos, can shrink someone’s attention span. With a short attention span, individuals cannot focus on something that requires a long attention span, such as reading a book. Therefore, they have a low literacy level. Furthermore, illiteracy tends to have a severe impact on someone’s development. This is because, through that particular activity, people are able to enrich their knowledge, which leads them to be an open-minded person. For example, a student who reads a newspaper daily usually has a broader knowledge than others who do not have that routine. Besides a personal effect, this could be a significant problem for a state. Low literacy levels can exacerbate a state’s education level. Education is a fundamental element for the development of a country; thus, it is logical to conclude that without good literature, it can be a significant drawback for a nation.  In conclusion, the origin of a rising level of illiteracy is exposure to technology, and a low literacy skill can decline someone’s development and affect the state’s growth.