Some believe that people will buy a product based on their needs and there is no need for advertising. To what extent do you agree or disagree with essay?

According to some, people will buy products based solely on their needs; thus, there is no need for advertising. I disagree with this statement, as the promotion of a product allows it to reach a wide audience globally. The chief merit of advertising is the increase in product awareness it brings. Any product, if promoted effectively and consistently, can make buyers perceive it more positively due to the visibility it receives. Moreover, this gives the seller an advantage over competitors, since the items they are selling will stand out in the market. For instance, in Pakistan, a facewash brand called Fair and Lovely gained significant traction due to its promotion. Although it was not considered the best product, many Pakistanis still purchased it because of the heavy advertising campaigns. However, some argue that products do not require promotion, provided they are of high quality and in demand. In the real world, we see many brands that rarely advertise themselves, such as Lamborghini and Ferrari. These companies have already established strong reputations and therefore do not need advertising. They know that customers seeking the best quality cars will approach them directly. In conclusion, although advertising cannot fully guarantee that a product will be successful, I believe that if a product has just been released or comes from a lesser-known brand, it can greatly benefit from promotion. Advertising helps such products stand out from competitors and ultimately generate higher profits.