In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays in many states, children are educated that competition is important and what matters is if you come first.I disagree with this approach as it can put pressure on the kids. The obvious drawback of this trend is that it puts the child at a burden. When you expect someone to preform everytime, chances are the person will buckle under the pressure; as if he does not win he would be a nobody. Consequently, the kid would rather not compete than to be percieved as a loser. There are tons of example of this in the real world; for instance, In Pakistan a lot of cricketers retired quickly as they were not able to meet the expectations people held of them. As a result, many of them got into severe depression if they could not preform. However, some suggest that this approach has its benefits. The chief merit being, that the child will want to truimph in whatever they do. According to them, if children are taught this mindset from a young age they would be willing to put in the work to succeed. In today's day and age where competition is at an all time high; teaching children to not shy away from competing can,thereby, benefit them in their future endevours. In conclusion, while this approach can cause one to work hard towards their goal it can also demotivate them since anthing below this threshold means nothing. Therefore, I believe that rather than teaching children that winning is everything, is will be btter to teach them to give their all when doing something no mattee the results.