Most people today own a smart phone. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the widespread availability and low cost of smartphones, most people are in possession of these devices. While there are certain negatives like addiction, smartphones can be of great help in our daily lives. With the rise of social media apps and the introduction of reels, phone addiction has become a huge problem, especially for young adults and teens. This is primarily due to the psychological manipulation that reels and short videos have on younger generations. For example, statistics from the University of Freiburg show that the time teens spend in front of a screen almost doubled since the introduction of reels. In addition, further studies show that longer screen times are directly linked with a rise in depression. Therefore, smartphones and their easy availability pose a great danger of addiction and depression, especially for young people. Although smartphones are very addictive, they can help overcome dangerous situations by calling for an ambulance instantly in a case of emergency. For instance, my nephew was playing outside with some friends the other day, and one of them fell from the play tower, resulting in a broken hand. With the use of a phone, he could call an ambulance to his location and inform his parents about the incident. Because of his phone, help arrived quickly and his friend was taken to a hospital. This shows that phones can be very beneficial in situations where every minute counts and there is no one else around to help. In conclusion, while many people become addicted to smartphones and their apps, they are still necessary for emergency situations, and the more people are in possession of one, the easier it becomes to contact help.