Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the environmental problem has raised public awareness. It is believed by many that the government ought to raise the fuel price which is the most effective way to deal with surrounding issues. Personally, I do disagree with this statement. Apparently, i have to admit that controlling the price of petrol can reduce the usage of private cars to some extent. It is mainly because some people who usually drive fuel vehicles to work may indeed affected by such an adjustment. To be specific, they may be more likely to choose another transport like the subway or bus instead of their cars. So, generally, we can see a downward trend in a number of cars on the road emitting less waste gas which is helpful for the environment. However, such method mentioned above does not work in the long term. If the public transport system is well-equipped enough to satisfy every individual’s demand, people may not need to drive their own cars and the traffic jams can be also solved by doing this. So more bus routes and more railway stations should be constructed. Furthermore, to decrease air pollution by car exhaust, the more effective way is exploiting clean energy and encouraging electric cars. Overall, as what has been illustrated above, it can be confirmed that although an increase in the fuel price can make some people not use their own cars, from a long-term view, changing the energy resources and improving the public transport system are more effective ways for air pollution.