Some people think that constructing bigger roads will help to prevent traffic problems. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought that, in order to reduce traffic on streets, the government should extend the lines on roads. Although this can be beneficial in handling more cars, this solution can attract more residents to the area, and thus, this can lead to a bigger headache. Consequently, I must say that I partially agree with this statement even though there will be consequences if mismanagement happens. Firstly, in bigger cities, especially in metropolises, the number of residents who own a vehicle is roughly the same as the population itself. This can lead to larger queues of cars on roads, and can potentially cause more accidents and casualties. As a result, the law has to make the highways larger in order to decrease the congestion. Secondly, constructing a more extended place for cars can solve it to some extent. However, road management can play an even bigger role in this issue. A developed town with fewer traffic problems can attract other people to move to it. So, the government must first think about this unless it wants more hardships in the area. In conclusion, if this plan is thought thoroughly before happening, it can help make the city more convenient. Therefore, it is more dependent on the whole plan handling than on the problem itself.