It is observed that many of the professional courses produce students with less quality. Why is it so? What can be done to solve the issue?

Of late, the quality of teritary education is being questioned by a larger proportion of the society. The main reasons for this can be accounted to inexperienced faculties and a lack of foundational knowledge among the students. The following essay outlines these reasons in detail before discussing the possible measures to improve the professional education system. One of the main reasons are the recruitment of fresh graduates as educators in the college, which can affect the quality of teaching. This will be reflected in the efficiency of students brought up them. For instance, medical colleges in India are subjected to scrutiny annually for the initial five years. It is reported quite a few times that some new colleges loses their recognition to function academically owing to a lack of experienced faculties at different strata. This can be rectified to an extend by implementing orientation programmes to new joinees. Conducting teaching workshops and skill development courses can further enhance the potential of new tutors as well. Secondly, a degradation in the calibre of professionally qualified students can be attributed to an improper understanding of basic concepts dealt in the course. In explanation, although the learners have passed the examination, they fail to establish a stable foundation regarding the topic. An adaptation of a student-oriented curriculum can be cited as a solution for this problem. By enhancing the involvement of pupils through activities such as seminar and debates, syllabus can be completed along with ensuring a better understanding of the subject. For example, the concept of open space drawing in architecture courses has helped to propel the enthusiasm and creativity of the budding artists. In conclusion, based on the above discussion, it is clear that both the experience of teachers and the exposure of students to core concepts affect the standard of professional courses. Therefore, the grades of such courses can only be upholded by a combined effort from both the mentors and the learners. In addition, institutions have an obligation to maintain the quality of education imparted.