Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology becomes more advanced each day, and new use cases are being developed to track people’s activities and opinions. Often, a person does not even notice whether they are monitored through tracking or watched by CCTV or not. I firmly believe that this increased use of technology and monitoring is a necessary measure to ensure safety and reduce the crime rate. First of all, criminal activities reach new all-time highs every year, and strict measures are needed to fight against this ongoing trend. Actions like the increased use of security cameras or phone tracking are necessary to prevent or solve crimes or even hinder terrorist attacks. Increased monitoring of public places and people’s cell phones has already reduced the crime rate in Germany by 15 per cent. Furthermore, tracking can be helpful to find a missing person. However, extensive tracking leads to a loss of privacy, and people cannot be sure whether they are being watched or not. The data that is generated by comprehensive monitoring is often used by technology companies and sold to other enterprises to personalise advertisements. In general, tech firms want to profit from selling collected private data, as Facebook or Google do. Moreover, personal information is often stored online by governments or private companies and is a popular target of cyberattacks that steal private data and either sell it or publish it online. As a consequence, detailed information about a person becomes visible to the whole world, as the Visa card hack from last year has shown. In conclusion, increased monitoring is essential to fight crime and ensure a more secure environment and future.