Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The earth is suffering from the ever-more-enormous amount of waste produced by humans. This essay will examine the possible factors contributing to this disturbing phenomenon and provide potential solutions that governments can exert to mitigate the situation. There are two major human activities to blame: continuous industrialisation and ceaseless urbanisation, both outcomes of insatiable greed. Giant factories emitted 97% of the entire waste production in 2023, researchers say, which certified many anti-industrial theories. Moreover, rubbish output increased beyond a hundredfold compared to that in the pre-industrial era. The next culprit, urbanisation, breeds more variegated forms of waste than the former, such as kaput electronic devices, out-of-fashion clothes, packaged foods, and plastic products, all of which are difficult to decompose and pose a grave threat to the environment. One prominent business rising from the expansion of urbanisation is the fast fashion industry. Companies like Zara, Uniqlo, and H&M combined can accumulate billions of items each year, however, 92% of them ended up in landfills last year. In short, never-ending industrialisation and urbanisation have coalesced into a colossal waste -producing machine that only concerted efforts can alleviate the harm it engendered. To curb global waste output, there are three measures that authorities can adopt. First, factory production processes should be more stringently regulated and supervised to forbid any excessive production. Second, governments need to promote the use of greener alternatives than, for example, plastic bags and bottles, to cut plastic market share. Third, nations can continue to advocate the idea of recycling reusable items and finding new uses for some obsolete goods. To conclude, superfluous industrial production and urban development have contributed to the lion’s share of total waste nowadays. It is vital for the world to work collaboratively first by placing a cap on factory manufacturing and then sensitising the matter in public.