Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, experimenting on animals has become more debatable. Some believe that the entire animal trial is unacceptable and should be banned. However, others believe these trials are crucial for scientific discoveries. I would agree with the latter thought and discuss my reasons below. Also, suggesting what other options could be used rather. Animal trials are a necessary step prior to the administration of drugs in humans. This is because the scientists want to rule out any teratogenic or embryotoxicity being caused by the drugs. Furthermore, as they have similar morphology and body structure to humans, fauna makes it possible to assess the benefit-risk analysis of products. They can assess the safety of the goods that are never administered to humans. Thus ensuring people's safety. For example, prior to the Geneva Act of 1950, the drug thalidomide was administered to pregnant women without any clinical overview and only based on a non-clinical overview which seemed safe. 40% of these pregnant women gave birth to children with deformities of flipping hands and feet which was quite shocking. These deformities lead to tremendous morbidity among families. However, if alternatives are needed, in-vitro options would be the best option. This is because non-clinical outcomes need to be more robust and various simulations to assess adverse events are required. They would need plants and micro-organisms to be utilised for understanding the pharmacology of the product. In conclusion, the fauna needs to be used for trials to ensure human safety. In the past, a lack of this was seen with thalidomide usage. Laos, for alternative options, non-clinical studies need to be more developed and advanced.