Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Having repeat offenders tends to be a significant problem since it can be a sign of ineffective laws. Therefore, the government needs to identify the root cause of this issue. There could be two possible explanations: either the current punishment does not have deterrent effects or the presence of bigger issues in society, such as poverty. As a result of a lack of deterrent consequences, offenders may belittle their sanctions. Some offenders may believe that the potential benefits of committing a crime outweigh the consequences they might face. Moreover, high levels of criminality are a sign of socioeconomic issues. Research shows that citizens who are living below the poverty line or have financial problems have a higher likelihood of committing a crime. For example, in Indonesia, the number of burglary cases increased as many people were losing their jobs due to the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. Individuals who break the law due to economic pressure may repeat the action if the underlying problems are not addressed. To tackle this matter, governments should evaluate the ratified laws. The evaluation might discover whether the problem comes from the law enforcement agencies or the form of punishment itself. A comprehensive review of the penalties’ effectiveness like fines, imprisonment, probation, community service, and even the death penalty is also required. In addition, governments need to tackle additional causes like economic development issues, by providing social assistance and employment opportunities, as well as improving the quality of education. In conclusion, the problem results mainly from the ineffectiveness of ratified laws and other contributing factors, like economic pressures. To address the issue, governments need to act by conducting rigorous evaluations and applying various policy programs to solve the root causes.