Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the food source, some of them support that local food instead most of import food, However, whether import food from other country is a controversial issue. My view is that government need to keep balance between local food and import food. First, it is obviously that import food can enhance people ’s choice diversity. This because of people has eaten local foods for years, import food can bring freshness to them. For example, lots of people in this world love to share food of their own country, some of the food only can produced in special places, people want to taste it at home only by import it. So, import food is essential for people ’s daily life. Moreover, importing food can enhance the relationship with other countries. This means that importing food is a diplomatic way for government. For instance, importing food from poor country can support them financial benefits, this financial benefits can help lots of children from food / living / education, even the job position. Therefore, importing food not only available with citizen, but also have politics benefits. That is not to say that only eating local food is not good. Of course, local food has lots of positive aspects, such as safety. But according to the law of food, the food safety can guarantee in most of countries. In summary, food import is a positive thing I agree with, and it have much benefit aspects. Meanwhile, government cannot ignore developing local food. Only by doing so can we make sure that both benefit on diplomacy and citizen.